Week 3 Reading: Living Rule Number 6 (or not)

The chapter that spoke the most to me was chapter 6: Rule Number 6. I have to admit that this week has been the most difficult for me because, not only did I fall behind on my work because of my brother getting married and family being in town all last weekend, but I’ve been stressing myself out over trying to create my leadership project, while completing report cards for my students, and holding parent teacher conferences all week. Right now, I sure can use a lot of Rule Number 6 in my life.

What’s Rule Number 6? Well, in my classroom, my student’s know Rule #6 as: Push in your chair before you leave your seat. According to The Art of Possibility by Zander and Zander, it’s a rule that I tend to forget a lot about: Don’t take yourself so goddamn seriously. I’ve been working so hard lately that I’m finding my attitude about everything becoming more and more negative. I’m constantly tired, and I find myself saying, “this isn’t fun anymore,” all the time! Being a perfectionist has been my biggest curse in life, but somehow I think that this world does have its way of setting things in balance. I guess it is true that opposites attract. I feel so lucky and blessed to have found my perfect counterpart, a husband who lives Rule Number 6 as his life motto. Whenever he sees me start to stress out, he’s always there to lighten the mood by cracking a joke, or saying some random thing in one of the many accents that he works so hard to master.

My husband in the Fozzy Bear costume I made him. Fozzy has always been his favorite Muppet.

I’ve pretty much lived my life by rules and a timeline that I’ve set for myself. There’s always a plan that I’m supposed to stick to and I always want to do it right the first time, never wanting to make any mistakes. Unfortunately, life is unpredictable and that’s a hard lesson that I’ve had to learn. I have to admire my husband because he embraces life and all of its imperfections. He never pretends to be perfect and if he ever makes a mistake, he’s the first one to go with it, make a joke, and we’re always there to laugh along with him. I’ve never realized what an admirable quality that is until I read this book. With a great role model by my side, I have many lessons to learn.

 

5 thoughts on “Week 3 Reading: Living Rule Number 6 (or not)

  1. I can really relate to your feelings and it seems you have a lot on your plate. I am sure all will work out well. I too was feeling overwhelmed and with the help of family and friends was able to find a balance again. Looking back, I thought the term “critical friends” was weird. In hindsight, it’s been those people that have pulled me through in the tough times. I believe that’s the beauty of allowing people to know the “whole” you. It seems your husband know how to make you laugh. I know that laughter has been one of the ways I’ve been able to “breathe & reboot”. When I start to take myself too seriously, I imagine myself in one of the arcade games running back and forth. The image of me going running fast going no where just cracks me up. Once I laugh at myself I am able to get find some peace. Suddenly, all of my needs for perfectionism seem to fall away. Here’s something a friend once told me that has served me well from time to time. “I get a grip when I let go….

  2. This is definitely a rule I try to live every day. That said, I think I do a pretty good job at it, but I have my moments where I take myself way too seriously. I’m not above asking for help, and I’m not above admitting that I have made a mistake. As Kristy mentioned in our Leadership project critique session, I embrace the errors I’ve made on the AR project. Did these things hurt the project? Maybe. Were they good things to own and learn from? Definitely.
    Last week, one of my colleagues came to me with concerns about getting reading for an upcoming field trip. Rather than freaking out because it was a very last minute request, I just took it as it came. It is a responsibility and I can either let it irritate me, or I can shrug it off. I’m opting for door number two.

  3. Pingback: Wk 3: Comments on Gena’s post | Kevin Fancher's blog for MAC

  4. It’s so easy to take life too seriously and some things are serious matters-no doubt, but if circumstances aren’t up to my standards, I do tend to “freak out” and forget rule number 6. I appreciate people who have the gift of a good sense of humor and remind me that “It’s all going to be okay.” It’s great that your husband can make you laugh and show you the lighter side of life. We all need someone like him in our lives.

Leave a Reply

