Week 3 Virtual Class Session

Today I was able to do a Google Hangout with my two classmates, Kristy and Kevin. It was so nice having the chance to catch up with the two of them and have a live conversation (as opposed to a blog) about their AR Projects that they have been working so hard on for the past 11 months.

Kevin’s project was especially interesting to me because we had a lot of similarities in our Literature Review and he dealt with teaching the leaders in his youth group and I focused on professional development with teachers at my school. I appreciate his project that he plans to publish because he really worked hard to include a section about what he learned from his mistakes. He has really good insight and I’m looking forward to seeing his final product next month.

Kristy’s project was also very interesting because she focused on motivating the students in her classroom, and I’m always searching for new ways to motivate my 4th grade students. It was really great to hear her talk about how she uses Edmodo with her students  and I’m so glad she’s having as much success with Kidblog as I am. That really tells me that what she’s doing is making a big difference at her school. Her presentation is still a work in progress, but I know that she’s off to a great start!

Now, as far my project, I was a little nervous about using Prezi because after listening to the archive class, I learned that there are some that think Prezi can get too crazy with it’s movement. After presenting with Kevin and Kristy, I was happy to learn that they weren’t bothered with the movement between slides. I know that I rushed through my presentation a lot more than I would in a real presentation, but I knew that I had a lot of information and I was trying to be respectful of their time. In Kevin’s feedback, he talked about how I showed how versatile LiveBinders can be. It made me happy when he mentioned that it would be useful for teachers at his school. That let me know that I am presenting about a relevant Web 2.0 tool that others would be interested in learning more about.

In the middle of my presentation, I had mentioned my Bullying LiveBinder. Later, Kristy had asked about getting a link to it. That’s exactly what I think LiveBinders is about, and I’m hoping that I can interest other teachers in using LiveBinders to share resources and inspire new ideas. I know I still have adjustments to make, but it was good to meet with others to get the confirmation that I’m heading in the right direction with my project.

Here’s a link to my Bullying LiveBinder. Just like I told Kristy, if you have a LiveBInder account, you are free to copy it and modify it according to your needs. Bullying is such a huge issue in schools, please share this resource with others and let me know if there are any other good links that I can add.

One thought on “Week 3 Virtual Class Session

Leave a Reply

