Week 3 Comment 1: Ketsana Phommalee

Ketsana’s Original Post: WEEK 3 READING-LIVE, LAUGH, AND LOVE

Posted by Ketsana in Media Asset Creation and tagged with , November 4, 2012

Life is a journey. Live, laugh, and love.

In this week’s reading of The Art of Possibility, I am left thinking about my young learners. This year, I am happy to spend time teaching and learning with my sixth graders. These students are young enough to still enjoy school and learning. When I see their eyes and ears perk up, I know that they are still in the stage of “I like school.”
Then I wondered about the older students and what happened to them to make them hate school. Last year I taught eight graders and it was a challenging nine months for me. The students did not care about learning, some had terrible records, including police records, failing grades, and had no intention of attending college.
What I have seen in the past years and some this year is the negative attitudes from the students towards learning something new. If the answer is not visible and right in their faces, they automatically say,” I don’t get, ” or, “I can’t do it.” Whatever happened to thinking and pondering the possibilities? Why can’t they try to seek out answers, even if it leads to more questions? Is thinking too much effort? Sometimes I become very frustrated with my learners, but I am determined to continue encouraging better thinking skills and enjoyment of learning.
I goal as a teacher is to share my knowledge and, more importantly, my deep passion for knowledge with my students. May they realize that life is a journey. Live, laugh, and love.

My Response to Ketsana:

I’m so glad that you are having a good experience with your 6th grade students this year! It’s hard to say exactly what it is that gets students to change their mind about learning and their educational possibilities. It’s something that happens over time with all of the negative experiences that get these children to look at life and their education in a different way. There comes a point when students have enough of getting bad grades, or not meeting up to the standards or expectations of teachers, parents, siblings, or peers. It’s not that these students are failing; I think that our education system is failing these students. Behind that negative attitude and the wall that they have built up is a tremendous amount of possibility and potential. This makes our job as teachers that much harder.

Despite all of these obstacles, how do we excite and awaken that potential in each of our students? We may not be able to reach them all, but the fact that we are in this EMDT program together means that we are seeking ways to better our teaching practice, in order to reach and motivate more students, using the technology that is such a big part of their lives. Listening to all of the progress that you’ve made with your AR project, I know that you are making a huge difference with the students at your school. Teachers at your school are starting to take notice of your success, so slowly; many others will start to catch on!

Leave a Reply

