Week 4 Reading: Being the Board

As this class is coming to an end and we have reached the end of the book The Art of Possibilities, I see how this month was strategically planned to get us to start to think about our own possibilities. I just completed my discussion post video about my dream job. How convenient is it that this Dream Job assignment & the thought provoking book full of inspiring stories by Rosamund Stone Zander and Benjamin Zander came one month before we graduate?After finishing the last few chapters of the book, I now feel like I need to focus on keeping a  positive outlook for my future, whether I decide that I should search for a new career, or decide to make the absolute most out of my current job as an elementary school teacher. Sometimes I let the negative attitudes of others drag me down. And while there seem to be more and more reasons to get down about our education system, sometimes it’s easy to use those reasons as excuses that can get in the way of me doing my job to the best of my ability.

This all started to make sense to me after I read chapter 10: Being the Board. Zander describes a scenario of a car at a traffic light getting hit by a drunk driver. At first it was a ridiculous thought for me to think that the drunk driver wasn’t 100% at fault in that situation. After reading on and thinking about it more, I totally understand the concept about being the board. Life it totally unpredictable and there will always be times when we can be at the wrong place at the wrong time, but that is a risk that we take. If we live our lives blaming others and making excuses, all we’re doing is limiting our possibilities and opportunities for growth.

We go to Mexico every summer because my parents believe in making the most of every moment!

Now that I think about it, my parents are the greatest example of being the board. They never let bad situations get them down and it’s always amazing to me that they can come out of any situation with a smile and a positive outlook on life. Four or five years ago my parents were in a head on collision, hit by a driver and they were both going 45+ mph around a blind curve. Their car was totaled and they were rushed to the hospital. When my dad called to tell me what happened, I was terrified and I dropped what I was doing to go meet them there. When I arrived, my dad was smiling and laughing as he told me the story of what happened. He was so happy to be alive, but he never blamed the driver of the other car or got angry that the accident happened to them. It was a miracle that both my parents were able to walk away from that accident with only minor injuries. I know that I’ve picked up a lot of great qualities from my parents, I just hope that I can always keep that same positive outlook on life.

3 thoughts on “Week 4 Reading: Being the Board

  1. Gena, you have the potential to do whatever you want to do. I firmly believe that. Not only do you have the potential to do anything, you also have the potential to be successful at anything you do. I have grown to respect and admire you throughout this past year. I have drawn a lot of inspiration from things that you have done, but you already know that.

    If you decide to stay teaching where you are, I am convinced that you will become the most effective, engaging, life-changing teacher in that district. If you decide to take your unbelievable talents elsewhere, in an educational setting or not, you will create not only create ripples, but waves.

    Your dream job video was very well done. Seeing the quick clip of the 48 Hour Challenge we did together brought back some really good memories. Of all the videos and projects I’ve done for this program during the past year, that one we did together was by far the highlight and the one that I’m most proud of. I’m glad I got to share that experience with you.

    Whatever you find yourself doing when this program is over, I wish you the best of luck. But you don’t need luck. You are full of possibilities and a positive outlook. Great job on everything, and congratulations.

  2. Pingback: Week 4 Comment Post: Gena Pacada « oddnumb3r5only

  3. Thanks for sharing your experiences. Being dragged down by the negative attitudes in the workplace is one of the reasons I picked the book, as a reminder that one does not have to go down that path, that there are other possibilities. I’m glad reading the book has helped you, even just a little bit.

Leave a Reply

